Hit Broadway Show THE PRODUCERS is coming to Brisbane



SEASON: Thursday 4th to Saturday 13th March 2021

VENUE: Powerhouse Theatre, Brisbane Powerhouse, 119 Lamington Street, New Farm QLD

The smash-hit musical The Producers, written by comedic genius Mel Brooks, will open at Brisbane Powerhouse this March, presented by Altitude Theatre, a new music theatre company spearheaded by Brisbane’s own Joseph Simons and Adam Gardnir.

We were delighted to have a visit to rehearsals and meet some of the cast with getting a peek at one of the musical numbers we able to share with you. Amazing.

Sitting backstage in the costumes room with Joseph Simons, Artistic Director of Altitude Theatre and Director /Choreographer the excited in him is huge as to bringing Altitude Theatre together with his partner Adam Gardnir. We are truly looking forward to bringing this fun and uplifting production that has a great local cast of Queenslanders that are super talented!


I believe this is the show that Brisbane wants right now. “Following the challenges of 2020 people are eager to get out and celebrate with each other, to laugh and to be entertained by astonishing artists, and that’s exactly what _The Producers _offers.

Trust me when I say, THE PRODUCERS is going to blow the roof off the Powerhouse Theatre!! This cast is sensational!”.

The Producers are winners of a record of twelve Tony Awards and tells the story of a mousy accountant who teams up with a fading Broadway producer to devise a brilliant scam: to produce the worst musical ever to hit Broadway, and to be guaranteed to close on opening night.

Leading the cast are some of Australia’s top musical theatre talent including:

Matt Young (_A Chorus Line, West Side Story, On The Town_) as Max Bialystock

Mark Hill (_Muriel’s Wedding, Michael Jackson History, Mary Poppins) _as Leo Bloom

Rachael Ward (_Chicago, Cats, Jesus Christ Superstar_) as Ulla and featuring James Lee (_The Phantom of the Opera_, _Les Misérables, Miss Saigon, My Fair Lady, Annie, Fiddler on the Roof_) as Roger De Bris

The musical direction is by Jacqui Devereux, set designs by awards winning Josh McIntosh and costumes designed by Madeleine Barlow.



Mark Hill as LEO BLOOM

Rachael Ward as ULLA

James Lee as ROGER DE BRIS

Alex Watson as CARMEN GHIA

Patrick Conolly as FRANZ LIEBKIND

Chloe Taylor as HOLD ME TOUCH ME

Jackson Reedman as STORMTROOPER

Ensemble includes:

Gabriella Boumford, Maddison Coleman, Austin Cornish, Shay Debney, Jasper Filshe, Lachlan Griffith, Stephen Hirst, Dominique Milne, Kurt Myhill, Dhuruva Padmanabhan, Melissa Russo, Tyson Stuetz and Emma Whitefield